Skip to main content
Library Home Page | Ask Us   

Library Locations and Collections

Welcome to the Mendel Gottesman Library of Hebraica/Judaica, one of the world's great Judaic library collections and the Jewish Studies research center at Yeshiva University's Wilf Campus.  Occupying three levels in the Mendel Gottesman Library Building (levels 4 through 5A) the Library offers services and collections for advanced scholarship as well as for the student just beginning to explore the field. 

With over 300,000 physical volumes, and access to more than 50,000 electronic-journals, several hundred databases, and 428,000 electronic book titles shared with other libraries at the Wilf and Beren Campuses, the Gottesman Library provides students and faculty members with a vast array of information sources.  The Library is particularly strong in the areas of Bible, Rabbinic literature, Jewish history, Jewish philosophy, Hebrew language and literature.  Rare books and manuscript collections as well as archival materials complement the Library's holdings.

Librarians work with students individually to assist them in assigned projects and teach classes to help guide students in the identification, selection, evaluation and use of information.  Computing, wireless access, scanning, copying and printing services, along with software tools such as Electronic Reserves and citation programs, support research and learning activities.  

Building Access

Access to the Mendel Gottesman Library Building at Yeshiva University's Wilf Campus is available to the following:

  • Holders of current Yeshiva University ID cards 
  • Immediate family members of YU ID card holders who have obtained a YU Visitor's Photo ID 
  • Yeshiva University Alumni with YU Alumni cards and photo ID 
  • Students and Academic Staff at SHARES member institutions and NYATLA member institutions, upon presentation of photo ID from the institution 
  • Metro Referral Card holders upon presentation of photo ID

Access for Yeshiva University High School students is governed by special arrangement.

Individuals not covered by the policies above who wish to gain one-time access to the Library should present a photo ID to Library Security Personnel.

ACCESS AFTER 9:00 PM ON SUNDAY THROUGH THURSDAY AND ACCESS ON SATURDAY NIGHTS IS RESTRICTED TO CURRENT YU ID CARDHOLDERS AND YU ALUMNI ONLY.

Please note: Yeshiva University students and faculty will be given priority access to collections and services. Others may be required to relinquish use of materials or facilities.


Mendel Gottesman Library of Hebraica/Judaica.
Yeshiva University
2520 Amsterdam Avenue - entrance on 185th Street
New York, NY 10033
646-592-4190



 

Yeshiva University
500 West 185th Street
New York, NY 10033 212.960.5400

 

Yeshiva University Home Page
Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law Library
Albert Einstein College of Medicine Library
Offices & Services
Campus Technology Help
Directory