Skip to main content
Library Home Page | Ask Us   

Footnotes, Bibliographies & Citation Tools

This guide will help you get started using citations in your academic writing, and teach you the basics about Citation Management Software.

EndNote Quick Links

Setting Up and Using EndNote Basic

Your EndNote Web account is the same as your Web of Science (database) account.

 

Setting Up Your Account

1. Access the Web of Science database.

2. Click on "My Tools," then "Endnote," and then "Register."

 

Accessing EndNote Basic

1. Go to the EndNote Basic login page.

2. Use your Web of Science account information to login.

 

Importing References from the Web of Science Database ("Direct Export")

1. Have the database you want to export from open in one tab, and EndNote Basic open in another tab.

2. In the database you are exporting from:

  • Use check boxes to select the items that you want to export.
  • Use the "Save to EndNote Online" button near the top of the page.

3. In the EndNote Basic tab:

  • Look for your imported references under "My References --> [unfiled]."
  • Add them to a new or existing group.

Importing References from Other Databases ("Direct Export")

1. Have the database you want to export from open in one tab, and EndNote Basic open in another tab.

2. In the database you are exporting from:

  • Select the items that you want to export (usually checking a box or putting them into a folder).
  • Find the "Export" button (usually in the right column).
  • Select "Export to EndNote Web."

3. In the EndNote Basic tab:

  • Look for your imported references under "My References --> [unfiled]."
  • Add them to a new or existing group.

 

Adding References Manually

1. Under the "Collect" tab, select "New Reference."

2. Choose the "Reference Type."

3. Fill out the relevant information about your source

4. Scroll to the bottom and save to an existing group or set up a new group.

5. Scroll to the top and "Save."

 

Using Cite While You Write

What is Cite While You Write?

A Microsoft Word plug-in -- Insert citations in your document as you write & auto-generate a bibliography.



 

Yeshiva University
500 West 185th Street
New York, NY 10033 212.960.5400

 

Yeshiva University Home Page
Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law Library
Albert Einstein College of Medicine Library
Offices & Services
Campus Technology Help
Directory