Top Ten Things Students Should Know About the YU Libraries
10. The libraries have extensive Jewish studies collections at both campuses, in addition to the general collections.
9. You can have almost any book in North America (or article) delivered, free of charge, through Interlibrary Loan.
8. We provide you off-campus access to HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, encyclopedias & more, through electronic database subscriptions.
7. Through E-Reserves, you can access readings specifically assigned by your professors.
6. We have computers, copiers, printers & scanners. You can use our wireless on your laptop, smart phone, or tablet computer; and network with our printers, too.
5. Our facilities provide study/work spaces, whether you're looking for an individual carrel or a place for quiet collaboration.
4. Our hours vary, but most nights we're open until the wee hours of the morning (or nearly).
3. We provide you with online tools to automatically generate bibliographies and organize your research.
2. Reference librarians will help you get started with a research project, become an expert searcher of both library resources and the Web, evaluate sources, organize citations & generate bibliographies.
1. You can visit us at the Reference Desk in person, email us, text us, chat with us, or call us. Find out how.
Inspired by the Missouri Western State University's Freshman Fact Sheet by Rick Dyson.
Used with permission.
The Basics
Libraries' Locations/Hours: http://www.yu.edu/libraries/hours/
Libraries' Website: http://www.yu.edu/libraries/
Use the library catalog (YULIS) for:
- To find books
- To find and link to e-books
- Link: http://yulib.mc.yu.edu:8000/cgi-bin/gw/yulis
Use the library databases for:
- articles from journals, newspapers, magazines, etc.
- e-books
- Link: http://www.yu.edu/libraries/online-resources/databases/
Use YUFind for:
- searching multiple databases at the same time.
- Link: tiny.cc/YUFind
Use the research guides for:
- Sources related to your assignment(s)
- Help with research (topics, sources, searching, citations, etc.)
- Link: http://libguides.yu.edu/
- Some popular guides include:
Use Interlibrary Loan for:
- Getting books on loan from other U.S. libraries
- Getting articles that aren't in YU Libraries' databases/collections
- Link: http://www.yu.edu/libraries/library-services/interlibrary-loan/
Where We Are
Hedi Steinberg Library
General & Judaica Collections
245 Lexington Avenue
(Beren Campus)
212 340 - 7720
Pollack Library
General Collections
2520 Amsterdam Avenue
(Wilf Campus)
212 960 - 5378
Mendel Gottesman Library
Hebraica/Judaica Collections
2520 Amsterdam Avenue
(Wilf Campus)
212 960 - 5382

Loading...
